top of page


Jigsaw Communications

3 June 2023

Twin double-point night races for the Queensland Production Cars

Twin double-point night races for the Queensland Production Cars lit up Queensland Raceway on Saturday evening (June 3), as part of the Days of Thunder event at the Ipswich facility.

The round three festivities for the QPC competitors will continue today, with a special non-QPC-championship sprint race at 1.30pm which will be broadcast as part of the event’s coverage package on Fox Sports 506 (live), Kayo (live) and SBS (live), with replays also to be broadcast on SBS Speedweek (results in this race will count towards the AASA Championship).

Following the close of the QPC-championship-eligible races on Saturday evening, Beric Lynton (#23 Bruce Lynton Service BMW M3), Ryder Quinn/Matt McCutcheon (#7 Local Legends Ford Mustang) and Anthony Levitt and Luke King (#16 AMG Spares Mercedes Benz C63 AMG) were the top of the outright points getters.

In the classes, Lynton took the Class X win over Roman Miller and Justin Anthony (#28 LKV Flooring BMW M2), with Miller having no less than two lucky escapes – first going off track at turn four in race one before being able to recover to finish, and then spinning at turn six in race two while going wide as part of an overtaking maneuverer. Despite this seeing the safety car called just before the CPS window opened, Miller was again able to resume and finish the race.

The A1 class victory went to Karl Begg and Rob Gooley (#60 Ultimate Diesel Tuning Mitsubishi Evo), who were victorious over Paul Buccini and Michael Von Rappard (#71 Brisbane Motorworks BMW M140i), and the third-placed in class, Frank Mammarella (#55 Selected Smash Repair Mitsubishi Lancer Evo). Also in A1, running into trouble in race one with a DNF due to having “no brake pads” and subsequently unable to take part in race two was Stuart Gamble in the #55 Golden Loans Mitsubishi Galant.

Taking out the A2 class win for the round was the /Quinn McCutcheon entry, Levitt/King and Jimmy Manteufel and Gary Beggs (#41 Resource Engineering and Development Queensland Holden VF Clubsport) claiming second and third respectively.

The B1 round honours were claimed by Trent Allen (#84 ABC Building Products Subaru WRX STi), who took out first place over Karlie Buccini (#9 Brisbane Motorworks BMW 135i).

In B2, Chris Begg and Ashley Hooper lifted the winners’ trophy thanks to their efforts in the #15 Motorsport Sales BMW E91 M3) over second-placed Richard Shinkfield and Ettore Vosolo (#19 Axis Surveys BMW E92 M3). The win for the #15 came despite Begg having to serve a drive through penalty after the CPS for speeding in pit lane.

The C class round honours were claimed by Jake Camilleri (#36 Grand Prix Mazda Caboolture Mazda 3 MPS 3), while the #77 IOLAR VW Scirocco entry of Patrick Navin and Shane Worsnop were awarded second place, with Jason Alexander (#46 QTR Bridgestone Renault Megane) in third.

In D Class, the #140 Hely Toyota 86 of Oliver Loiacono and Liam Loiacono took first place ahead of the #85 Duke Racing Subaru BRZ of Nick Winsor. Third for the round was the #11 Autoware Toyota 86 of Murray Dowsett and Mitch Maddren.

Further reporting on the weekend’s festivities for the Queensland Production Cars will be published in the coming days. In the meantime, be sure to keep an eye on the category’s Facebook page (click here) for photos from the event.

For category information contact

Image thanks to MTR Images

bottom of page