top of page


Jigsaw Communications

4 July 2023


Round four of the 2023 Queensland Production Cars Championship is well and truly underway at Morgan Park Raceway, with two of the weekend’s four races completed today (Saturday 8 July) as part of the latest round of the Hi-Tec Oils Super Series program.

Saturday’s racing program for the QPC competitors kicked off with qualifying, with Roman Miller breaking through for his first pole position outright and in class X aboard his #28 LKV Flooring BMW M2. Rounding out the top five outright for qualifying were A1 pole sitter Mark Bailey (#22 JAX Tyres and Auto Toyota GR Yaris), A2’s Anthony Levitt (#16 AMG Spares Mercedes Benz C63 AMG), C class’ Jake Camilleri (#36 Grand Prix Mazda Caboolture Mazda 3 MPS) and  A1’s Paul Buccini (#71 Team Buccini Racing BMW M140i).

Richard Shinkfield topped qualifying for B2 from 6th outright in the #19 Axis Surveys BMW E92 M3), while B1 was led by Trenten Allen (#84 ABC Building Products Subaru WRX STi), who was seventh fastest overall. Ashton ‘AJ’ Gealy took pole for D class from 8th on the overall timesheet in his #17 Coastal Fasteners/Phat Restorations Toyota 86GTS, while Adam Talbert topped E Class in the #37 PXR Group-Racing Mazda 6 (16th outright).

The first 10 lap race of the day for Queensland Production Cars was held at 1.00pm, with Bailey taking the outright and Class A1 win over Miller (1st for class X, 2nd outright) and Buccini (2nd for A1, 3rd outright).

Rounding out the top five and claiming the C and B2 class wins respectively were Camilleri (4th outright) and Shinkfield (5th outright), while Allen took the B1 class victory from sixth on the road. Timothy McDonald in the #69 Corona Cabinets BMW M240I was third in A1 and 7th outright, crossing the line ahead of D class winner, Murray Dowsett (#11 Lone Star Racing Toyota 86).

Rounding out the top ten outright were 2nd and 3rd for D class, Gealy and Nick Winsor (#85 Duke Racing Subaru BRZ). Taking the win for E class was Talbert from 15th outright, while Levitt over filled the gear box, resulting in a DNF.

Race two saw the QPC competitors tackle another 10 laps around Morgan Park Raceway at 4.00pm, with Bailey taking his second outright and A1 class victory for the day while 2nd for A1 Buccini and class X winner Miller reversed their finishing positions of the opening race to take 2nd and 3rd outright respectively.

Levitt bounced back from his race one DNF to claim fourth outright and first for A2, crossing the line ahead of Camilleri, who brought home a second class win from fifth on the road. B1 was taken out by Allen from 6th outright, crossing the line ahead of McDonald (3rd for A1), D class winner Gealy, and 2nd and 3rd for D class, Dowsett and Moyse (#97 GenFit Training, Butler Vehicles Toyota 86).

Taking the E class win was Talbert, while Shinkfield failed to finish after spinning out in his BMW E92 M3 on turn one of lap 7. Both car and driver escaped without harm and are expected to return tomorrow.

Sunday’s third and final day of the Super Series event at Morgan Park Raceway will host two races for the QPC – a 12-lap stanza at 11.13am and a 8-lap outing at 2.15pm. The morning race will be live-streamed on the Super Series Facebook page and also on Speedcafe while the afternoon race will be broadcast live on SBS Free to Air and simulcast on Fox Sports 505.

Further reporting on the weekend’s festivities for the Queensland Production Cars will be published in the coming days. In the meantime, be sure to keep an eye on the category’s Facebook page (click here) for photos from the event.

For category information contact

Image thanks to MTR Images

bottom of page